Today's Pet Pics

wednesday’s crew for 10.24.12

Posted on: October 24, 2012

This little Calico, named Lola,  has spots on her nose and mouth as well as her fur. We call them her birth marks. She’ll sneak up on you without making a sound, and then just appears out of nowhere, watching you intently.

Sebastian  Roque, better known as Bash, is a seventeen week-old French bulldog. He lives the rockstar lifestyle, partying all night and sleeping all day. Bash is an adventurer, a road warrior but also likes to kick back and listen to some jams with friends. He has a serious disposition but he’s a lover of life, as Bash would say, bon vivant!

Name: Priscilla
Age: One year old
Gender: Female
Kind: Grey Cockatiel
Home: Hereford, England
In August we decided to get a pet bird, and after much research I decided that a cockatiel was definitely the type of bird for us. And then we found her, Or rather she found us! I went straight over to the bird section, and there she was, staring down at me. After the initial ‘ahh, she’s so cute!’ I went to see the other ‘tiels, only she started to follow me around from inside her cage! So I went back to her and we had a little play, with her following me and climbing up the cage bars if I put my finger there. We also played some hide and seek – I would go low where she couldn’t see me, and she would stretch her neck to try and find me. Then I would come up, and she would duck down! She even chased away her cage-mate so she was the centre of attention. Everybody in the shop said that she had chosen me, so my mum caved in and she came home with us! As soon as she had settled in, we could already hand feed her. The next day, she could perch on my finger and come out of the cage!
It’s hard to believe that we’ve had her for only two months, it feels like she’s been a part of our family for much longer. I get her out every day, and she often sits on the lid of my laptop whilst I’m doing any work, just like she is right now! She also has a thing for jewelry, show her your earring or even better, my mums 24 carat gold necklace and she’ll be waddling straight over to investigate, and quite often, have a nibble! She loves nothing more than a scratch on her head, and will happily sit on your knee and cock her head so you get to those itchy places.
Every day when I come home from school, I can hear her before I can see her, welcoming me by chirping happily. When I walk into the room to get her out, she runs up and down the bars and back and forth along the floor before she finally climbs onto her favorite perch for me to take her out! She won’t let me take her out otherwise, it has to be on that spot! Oh, and her favorite food? Golden Nuggets (the cereal)! Always making sure that she sprays the crumbs everywhere. She loves the odd Cheerio too!
Another thing that she loves is being a model! That’s right, Priscilla  loves posing for the camera, as you can see in these photos! In fact, a few weeks ago I was taking some snaps, and she would stay still until the click went off, and then immediately change position and hold it! I’ve tried so many times to get a shot of her flying, but she’s so fast that it’s just a blur of grey! She loves sitting on the radiator (when it’s not on) and looking at herself in the mirror, as well as grooming herself. She’s such a good model!
Well, that’s Priscilla, and we wouldn’t change her for the world!

Name: Motte
Age: Nine months old
Gender: Female
Breed: Australian Shepherd, Golden Retriever
Home: Germany
After our first dog died in a car accident I wasn’t able to go to school next day. I was crying and shivering the whole day. Then, on Friday, my best friend came to take care of me and slept over. On Saturday my mother asked us if we should get ourselves a new dog. It didn’t take a second until I said yes, but in fact I felt pretty guilty. We searched everywhere for a new dog that would fit us and then, a few days later, we found Motte  on the Internet. For me it was love at first sight, even if my mother didn’t want such a dog, but a little Terrier or Chihuahua. I convinced her to phone the breeder. He told my mother that on the same day, there was a couple that visited the puppy and now wanted to think about buying it or not. My luck was that he told my mother she could phone him the next evening and, if the couple didn’t get back to him, we could come and get the puppy. To be honest I didn’t really think I would have that luck but when my mother phoned him the next day he told her we could visit! So we got in the car and drove those two hours just to see the pup. She was so soft and plush and I fell in love with her again. We took her with us and even the first night she silently crawled into my bed after I fell asleep and laid down right beside me.
Her name Motte, by the way, means moth in English. Motte is the kindest dog I have ever met in my whole life. My mother wanted a new dog because she didn’t want me to be alone at home when she has to work because she works at night. She wanted a dog to protect me and Motte is the best match we could get. In our street we have an asylum-seekers’ hostel and when we got her, there was a young man that always came into our backyard when I was playing with the dog. He talked to me, touched my shoulder and my hand and then, when I really felt uncomfortable, Motte started to growl and to bark. That was the first time I ever saw her snarling. Since then the man never came near me seeing Motte was with me. A few weeks later he moved.
It might sound strange, but she is better raised than our neighbor’s children. I don’t have to call her by her name. If I flick, she comes to me, gives me kisses and squeaks like an idiot. When I come home from school, she awaits me by the door, makes the funniest sounds and seems like she is trying to talk to me. If my mother is taking her outside while I come back with my bike, she will run to me and walk beside me until I get off my bike and pay her some attention. Even if I watch TV or play games on my Play Station, she will sit beside me and watch what is happening. Motte is always by my side, protecting and comforting me. She is the most precious thing I could think of and my best friend. I couldn’t think of any other dog that could make me that happy.

Name: Merida
Age: One year, eight months old
Gender: Female
Kind: Himalayan
Home: Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Merida  came to our lives to bring joy and love. At that time, we only had one cat, Sly, that has been with us for fourteen years now, he survived at two females Ariel and Fiona, and now he was alone and bored. So, we decided to bring a new female home to give him company. And after 52 days with us … Surprise! Surprise! She had a baby. We didn’t have a clue that she was pregnant. The fact is that she was already pregnant when she came to us. And now we’re in love with Merida and her baby, whom we named Lotso, he is a beautiful Himalayan male. I’m so glad that we choose Merida for her name, because she is really brave and she is a wonderful and loving mom.
She is very affectionate. She loves to climb to my lap and receive all the loving that we have to give. She is also very patient with my three-year-old daughter because she wants to hug and kiss and play with Merida all the time.
She is crazy for a string and for the laser toy. We play with her a lot. Now that she is a mommy, we are in love just to see the beauty of nature and how great a mom she has become.

Leave a Reply

