Today's Pet Pics

friday’s crew for 10.26.12

Posted on: October 26, 2012

Sora  is the result of a Siamese mother and a white domestic tabby father. She is our newest addition to the family and is a bundle of joy. She is barely three months old but has a real personality. She even stands up to our two older, less than friendly cats. You can’t help but melt when you stare into her bright blue eyes. (Although this picture gives them no justice…) She’s extremely talkative and will not hesitate to give you kisses when you’re sleeping. We named her Sora because it means “Sky” in Japanese. Her light fur with subtle hints of grey accompanied by her bright blue eyes reflect that of well… the sky! We love her so much and we were very lucky to find a kitten like her.

Arthur  (border terrier/jack Russell terrier) was born in May in Edinburgh. He moved just down the road and loves it. He’s been featured on both Dog Shaming and Dogs in Pubs. Famously, Artie managed to eat his mum’s straighteners the night before a wedding. He’s a courageous little man, who says hello to the majority of dogs, welcome or not! He loves chasing ice cubes, stealing pillows but hates the rain.

Name: Chief
Age: Eleven years old
Gender: Male
Kind: Paint Horse
Home: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA
Chief  is my very first horse and he is such a fantastic mount and friend, if I am sad he likes to lick or nuzzle my hair and cheeks and his birthday happens to be four days after mine is. I love my horse so much and I am so so glad to have him as a new member of our family. These pictures of from the day I decided to have fun and paint the Paint horse!
Chief is a special pet to me because ever since I was a little kid, maybe three or four years of age, I’ve been literally begging my mother to allow me to own a horse, I now, at the age of fifteen, have one and I was lucky enough to be able to get such a fantastic friend. Chief is special cause I feel that he understand me, what I say, and how I feel. Once I walked into his pen, he was lying down, I sat right beside his head and watched him sleep, he woke and jumped a bit (as I am sure all horses do when they wake and something is right by their face). Before calming down again and instead of getting up, he laid his head on my leg. That meant so much to me, the fact that he trusted me enough not to hurt him.
I feel that the more time I spend with him the more me and him will get to know each other. Chief’s personality is the best! He is smart and curious. Rather than spooking bad and running away or lashing out, he jumps and stands there thinking about it for a little bit. He is gentle and kind when he knows something is wrong with you, but when it comes to playing he has the spirit of a two-year-old stallion! Chief does know a few tricks like to come to a whistle and if I move my fingers like a bird beak and say ‘smile’ hell move his lips about. He does have a bit of a independent personality but is mainly a friendly and loving boy.

Name: Cecil
Age: Six months old
Gender: Female
Breed: Rough Collie
Home: Helsinki, Finland
Cecil  is a happy-go-lucky young girl and she knows what she wants. I got her from a breeder I have known for many years, she just stole my heart immediately when I saw her. She is very playful and brings a lot of youth to my two other dogs. She never barks but she is not quiet, the noises she makes are just horrible, sometimes she sounds like a hyena and sometimes it feels like I have a cow mooing in my living room.
Cecil loves everybody and everything. Autumn is a very interesting time for her, because falling leaves are a piece of magic to her. Cecil is very curious. She wants to play with all animals and kiss every human she meets.
Her favorite activity is running around with my two other dogs and swimming. Cecil is not a very good swimmer yet but maybe next summer she will be. Our goal is to take part in an obedience novice class next year and perhaps do some agility when she gets a bit older. Cecil knows a lot of tricks and enjoys doing them. She learns things very quickly and then has fun with them. She’s great!

Name: Paisley
Age: Eight years old
Gender: Male
Kind: Maine Coon, Ragdoll
Home: United Kingdom
This is my cat, his name is Paisley.  He is half Maine Coon and half Ragdoll, and we live in the United Kingdom. I have had Paisley since he was a kitten, and he has now grown into a gentle giant, a big bear of a cat who loves to be cuddled. He is so big I have no fear of squashing him.
He doesn’t like to go far, and whenever he goes out or comes in, he always lets me know with a big mew.His fur is so thick he doesn’t always notice its raining until he is soaked through. Then he comes in and wants to cuddle up before he has dried himself off! It’s like sleeping with a wet rug.
Paisley loves to drink fresh water, and if visitors go to the toilet, they wonder why Paisley has jumped into the bath and is mewing for a drink. I am disabled and pretty much housebound, and Paisley is my constant companion. We are a team. Although I’m never quite sure which of us is in charge, I guess it doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

